Mayor / Deputy Mayor

At the top of the organisation is the Mayor who is elected into office as first among equals after a general election.The Mayor is the Chairperson of all council meetings. After the Mayor comes the Deputy Mayor who is also elected among equals and acts or represents the Mayor during his/her absence.

Appointment of an Alderman

In terms of section 81 of the Urban Councils Act CAP 29:15, a Council may appoint to the dignity of an Alderman anyone who has held office as a Councillor on that Council for a period or for periods which in aggregate amount to ten years or more. An Alderman may retain the title and use the crest and armorial bearings designated by the Council for an Alderman whether he is a councillor or not.


The City of Mutare has a council made up of 19 ward-based councillors, the council debates local government issues involving both policy and by-laws. The primary duty of councillors, is to represent the needs and interests of their wards namely - roads, water, housing, etc.

Town Clerk

The Town Clerk who is the Chief Executive Officer (CEO), is seized with the responsibility to provide an integrated development planning, performance management and reporting, and high-level co-ordination of municipal operations.


Who  We Are:

Mutare City Council is a Local Government Authority which draws its mandate from the Urban Councils Act [Chapter 29:15]. Our mandate is elaborated in our mission statement.

Contact  Us

Facebook Page

Follow us on Youtube